In addition to the Journal of French Language Studies (published for the Associate by CUP), AFLS also publishes a web-based journal “Cahiers”.

Submissions to Cahiers

Two or more issues of Cahiers are normally published per year. Articles should be submitted electronically to the editor. Please ensure that your submissions closely follow the guidelines of the Cahiers style-guide, available here. Additionally please ensure that authorisation is sought for all copyrighted material in advance of submission. Each submission will be subject to blind review, and the review reports on each article should be fully considered prior to publication; this will be independently verified by the editorial team.



Authors retain the copyright to their contributions, which can be reprinted, re-distributed or saved in a personal website or institutional repository. We only request that you always state that the work was originally published in Cahiers. Texts are issued under the Creative Commons “Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives 4.0 International” license, which “allows others to download your works and share them with others as long as they mention you and link back to you, but they can’t change them in any way or use them commercially.” For the full text of the license see

Authors do not receive any remuneration or royalties, as the Association for French Language Studies publishes Cahiers articles free of cost to both authors and readers.

The articles are published open access on the Association for French Language Studies’ website. Each volume receives an ISSN number.

Editorial board

Cahiers Editor
Inès Saddour [Université de Toulouse II – Le Mirail, FR]
Co-Editor of Cahiers
Jonathan Kasstan [University of Westminster, UK]

Advisory board

  • Olivier Baude – Université d’Orléans, France
  • Mireille Bilger – Université de Perpignan Via Domitia, France
  • Hélène Blondeau – University of Florida, USA
  • Sonia Branca – Université Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris 3, France
  • Jacques Bres – Université Paul-Valéry – Montpellier 3, France
  • Zsuzsanna Fagyal – University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Penelope Gardner-Chloros – Birkbeck – University of London, UK
  • Jonas Granfeldt – Lunds Universitet, Sweden
  • Marie-Noëlle Guillot – University of East Anglia, UK
  • Cecilia Gunnarsson – Université de Toulouse – Jean Jaurés, France
  • Anne Judge – University of Surrey, UK
  • Emmanuelle Labeau – Aston University, UK
  • Dominique Lagorgette – Université de Savoie, France
  • Philippe Lane – Université de Rouen, France
  • Pierre Larrivée – Université de Caen, France
  • Isabelle Lemée – Lakehead University, Canada
  • Tony Lodge – University of St Andrews, UK
  • Sophie Marnette – University of Oxford (Balliol College), UK
  • Jacques Moeschler – Université de Genève, Switzerland
  • Sophie Moirand – Universite Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris 3, France
  • Leigh Oakes – Queen Mary, University of London, UK
  • Marie-Anne Paveau – Université Paris 13, France
  • Tim Pooley – London Metropolitan University, UK
  • Laurence Rosier – Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgique
  • Inès Saddour – Université de Toulouse II – Le Mirail, France
  • Suzanne Schlyter – Lunds Universitet, Sweden
  • Lene Schøsler – Københavns Universitet, Denmark
  • Véronique Traverso – Université Lumière – Lyon 2, France
  • Rafael Salkie – University of Brighton, UK
  • Louis de Saussure – Université de Neuchâtel, Switzerland
  • Henry Tyne – Université de Perpignan Via Domitia, France
  • Marleen Van Peteghem – Universiteit Gent, Belgium
  • Georges Daniel Véronique – Université d’Aix-en-Provence, France
  • Carl Vetters – Université du Littoral – Côte d’Opale, France
  • Anne Violin-Wigent – Michigan State University, USA
  • Richard Waltereit – Humboldt-Universität, Germany
  • Sophie Wauquier – Université Paris 8 – Vincennes-Saint-Denis, France